Congrats to Susan Athey!

The American Economic Association has announced that this year's John Bates Clark Medal has been awarded to Susan Athey, professor of economics here at Harvard. The Clark Medal is awarded every other year to an American economist under the age of 40 who has made a significant contribution to economic thought. Previous winners include Kenneth Arrow, Dale Jorgenson, James Heckman, Jerry Hausman, and (most recently) Daron Acemoglu. Professor Athey stands out in one respect, however; she is the first woman to be awarded the Clark Medal (and about time, too!). For more information, see the AEA announcment or coverage in the Harvard Crimson.

Posted by Mike Kellermann at April 23, 2007 11:45 AM