Alumni Digital Summit



2017 Alumni Digital Summit (October 28)


Exploring the Future of Digital

Tech in Government and Governance


Join us Saturday, October 28 for this inaugural event co-hosted with Alumni Relations that will bring together Harvard Kennedy School alumni to discuss the future of digital.

This event is an opportunity to connect with experts and alumni on topics relevant to today’s digital tech landscape including platform regulation, fake news, civic tech, and innovation.

Schedule at a Glance

Friday, October 27, 2017
4:00pm John F. Kennedy Jr. Forum (IOP)
This event is open to the public.


#Democracy on Fire: Twitter, Social Movements, and the Future of Dissent

Marshall Ganz bio
Senior Lecturer in Public Policy
Harvard Kennedy School

Wael Ghonim bio
Entrepreneurship Fellow, Shorenstein Center
Computer engineer, internet activists, and social entrepreneur
Author of Revolution 2.0: The Power of the People is Greater than the People in Power

Zeynep Tufekci bio
Associate Professor
School of Information and Library Science at University of North Carolina
Author of Twitter and Tear Gas: The Power and Fragility of Networked Protests                               

Moderator: David Eaves, Lecturer in Public Policy, Harvard Kennedy School

Co-hosted with 


Saturday, October 28, 2017
9:00am to 6:00pm 
This event is for Harvard Kennedy School Alumni.*

9:00am - 10:00am

Registration and networking breakfast

JFK Jr. Forum (near the JFK Street entrance)
79 John F. Kennedy St, Cambridge, MA 02138

10:00am - 11:00am

Opening remarks

Archon Fung bio
Academic Dean, Harvard Kennedy School
Ford Foundation Professor of Democracy and Citizenship

Keynote presentation by Zeynep Tufekci bio

11:30am - 12:30pm

Conversation: Platforms and Regulation
David Eaves bio
Lecturer in Public Policy

Nayana RenuKumar (MPA 2014-16) bio
Head of Public Policy Airbnb India

12:30pm - 1:30pm

Lunch break

2:00pm - 3:00pm

Panel: Fake News and Misinformation
Moderated by Nicco Mele bio
Director, Shorenstein Center

David Lazer bio
Distinguished Professor of Political Science and Computer and
Information Science, Northeastern University

Grace Mutung’u
Open Technology Fund Fellow, Berkman Klein Center
Associate, Kenya ICT Action Network

Laura Saunders bio
Associate Professor, Simmons College
School of Library & Information Studies

3:15pm - 4:15pm

Panel: Civic Tech, Innovation, and Engagement
Moderated by Brittany Butler (MPP 2012) bio
ED, Social Innovation + Change Initiative

Morgan Hargrave (MPP 2012) bio
Technology Fellow, Civic Engagement and Government
Ford Foundation

Denise Linn (MPP 2015) bio
Policy Analyst, Smart Chicago
Researcher, Benton Foundation

May Samali (MPP 2016) bio
Associate, Urban Innovation Fund

4:30pm - 5:00pm

Closing remarks by David Eaves

5:00pm - 6:00pm Reception with alums, speakers, and HKS faculty and staff





































*If you are a HKS faculty, staff, or student interested in attending please contact Vanessa.