Spring 2017 Letter from the Editors

SPRING 2017, VOL 2, No. 1

Dear readers,

It has been a pleasure and a privilege for us to serve at the helm of Persephone over the past two years, and we proudly present the final issue of our tenure as Co-Editors in Chief. We have cherished our time here not only because of our interest in the Classics, but also because the publication has offered the opportunity to connect with enthusiastic and talented students from all around the world to celebrate the humanities for the humanities’ sake. 

Once again, we have done our very best to select a varied collection of articles that we hope will represent the creativity, passion, and diversity of thought in the undergraduate community of aspiring classicists. This final issue will take readers from the plains of Gettysburg to the Greek tragic theatre, from the epic narrative of the Aeneid to the mysteries of the Homeric hymns, and beyond. We are proud to showcase the work of four excellent authors from Brown, Oxford, Smith, and Princeton.

We hope that you enjoy the Spring 2017 edition, and that you are as excited as we are about the future of the journal as it forges ahead in its third year of this new, online (and hopefully more accessible) format. Much still remains to be done – including the full digitization of past issues – but we believe that the journal’s new leadership has the passion, vision, and commitment to bring Persephone to even greater heights.

Before we depart, we would also like to thank the Harvard Department of the Classics for their unflagging support over the past two years as we tested new waters; the transition from a print to a digital publication was a challenging one, and had it not been for the tech support of Preceptor Ivy Livingston, the flexibility of Harvard Web Publishing, and the faith and confidence of Departmental Chair Mark Schiefsky and Director of Undergraduate Studies Kathleen Coleman, we could not have made progress. We are so grateful for all of your support.


Talia Boylan and Nicholas Ackert, ’17

Co-Editors in Chief