Forced Marriages in Council of Europe member States


CDEG (2005) 1 

The Council of Europe is a political organisation which was founded on 5 May 1949 by ten European countries in order to promote greater unity between its members. It now numbers 46 Euro- pean states.1 The main aims of the Or- ganisation are to promote democracy, human rights and the rule of law, and to develop common responses to political, social, cultural and legal challenges in its member states. Since 1989 it has inte- grated most of the countries of central and eastern Europe and supported them in their efforts to implement and con- solidate their political, legal and admin- istrative reforms. 

Publisher's Version

Last updated on 02/06/2018